Closing date for new NSFAS applications extended to 31 January 2014

The closing date for new NSFAS applications at the universities and FET colleges listed below has been extended to 31 January 2014:

  • Durban University of Technology
  • Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
  • Sol Plaatje University
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Mpumalanga
  • University of South Africa
  • University of Venda
  • Ekurhuleni East FET College
  • King Hintsa FET College
  • Motheo FET College
  • South Cape FET College
  • Umfolozi FET College

The following students must apply:
•             Students who are already studying at university or college but who did not receive NSFAS funding in 2013 and who want to apply for funding for the 2014 academic year
•             Learners who want to apply for financial aid to study in 2014
Students at all other universities and FET colleges must apply through the Financial Aid Office at the university or FET college after they have registered in 2014.

New Student-Centred Model for NSFAS Loans and Bursaries

The new NSFAS student-centred system is in place for the 2014 pilot universities and FET colleges, and will be implemented for all universities and FET colleges by 2016.
In 2014 the first group of universities to use the new system will be:
◦Durban University of Technology
◦Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
◦Sol Plaatje University
◦University of Cape Town
◦University of Mpumalanga
◦University of South Africa
◦University of Venda
In 2014 the first group of FET colleges to use the new system will be:
◦Ekurhuleni East FET College
◦King Hintsa FET College
◦Motheo FET College
◦South Cape FET College
◦Umfolozi FET College
In the new system NSFAS will continue to pay tuition and residence fees directly to each university or college.  Allowances for private accommodation, food, books and transport will be paid directly to students by NSFAS.